For Wilderness Emergency Medical
Care training classes, click
Follow us on
for class updates!
Minnesota was the first state to require training for all Special Transportation drivers. In order to be employed as an STS driver in
Minnesota candidates are required to complete 16 hours of training
for an Ambulatory-only driver and 20 hours of training for a
wheelchair transport driver,
within 45 days of being hired.
Driver re-certification is required every three (3) years.
Emergicare is the first STS driver
training provider to endorse and incorporate Minnesota's "Toward Zero
Deaths" program in defensive driving classes to raise awareness of
the dangers of distracted driving and road rage. Visit:
Minnesota Toward Zero Deaths
for more information.
We were also the first training provider to
include Compression-Only CPR in our Driver First Aid classes, although
it is not required by MN DOT. As if January 1, 2018,
two drivers have
saved lives by successfully using the skills they learned in class!
We have been providing in person, hands-on Special Transportation
Driver Training to drivers for all providers since 2000 and have been
certified by the Minnesota Department of Transportation to teach all
four categories; Defensive Driving, Passenger Assistance, both
and Wheelchair, First Aid and Maltreatment Awareness/Abuse Prevention.
Emergicare has been active in patient transportation and
training since 1973.
November 2018 Classes
Effective October 1, 2018, we will require a minimum of four (4) drivers
pre-confirmed in order to hold an open class in Golden Valley.
Confirmation of the class being held will be posted below and on Twitter
Monday, Nov. 5, 2018: Defensive Driving, 6:00 PM,
Location: Driving Miss Daisy Transportation and Home Care, (2nd floor
Conference Room) 1710 Douglas
Drive N, Golden Valley, MN,
Wednesday, Nov. 7, 2018:
Passenger Assistance-A (Ambulatory) & B
(Wheelchairs), 6:00 PM,
North Memorial Health Ambulance Service,
4501 68th Ave. N, Brooklyn
Monday, Nov. 12,
First Aid, 6:00 PM, Location:
Online. Access code will be provided after the 1st class session.
Nov. 14, 2018:
Abuse Prevention/Maltreatment Awareness, 6:00 PM
Memorial Health Ambulance Service
still available as of Oct. 28th:
7 (Class Confirmed.)
NOTICE: Effective October 1,
2018, all private classes for non-established clients (New, or we
haven't held a class for your service in the past 36 months.) will
require a $125.00 non-refundable reservation fee, which will be deducted
from your final tuition bill.
to register by e-mail.